2011 AAAAI Honorary Award Recipients Named

The AAAAI Board of Directors and the Awards, Memorials and Commemorative Lectureships Committee have named the 2011 Honorary Award recipients. Honorary Awards are presented to individuals and ad hoc task force members whose contributions have advanced the science and knowledge of allergy/immunology, the mission of the AAAAI and helped to improve optimal patient care.

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award



John J. Condemi, MD, FAAAAI

Presented in recognition of service over 25 years to the allergy/immunology training program at the University of Rochester as a teacher and mentor with a special focus on clinical immunology.

Honorary Fellow 2011 Award



Raif S. Geha, MD, FAAAAI

Presented in recognition of significant contributions to allergy/immunology research and physician and leadership training.

Distinguished Clinician Award



Andrea J. Apter, MD, MA, MSc, FAAAAI

Presented in recognition of significant contributions toward the improvement of healthcare delivery and quality for persons with asthma and other allergic/immunologic disorders.

Special Recognition Award



Jean Bousquet, MD

Presented in recognition of an exemplary career devoted to improvement in the recognition and treatment of chronic respiratory diseases and their impact on global health. The 2011 Honorary Award recipients will be formally recognized at the AAAAI Business Meeting on Monday, March 21 from 12:30 to 1:30 during the 2011 Annual Meeting, which all members and Fellows are encouraged to attend.

Congratulations to the following 2011 Honorary Award recipients:

Allied Health Professionals Recognition Award



Christine W. Wagner, CPNP, CFNP, AE-C Presented in recognition of service to the allergy/immunology allied health community as a leader, mentor and educator.

Distinguished Service Award



Arnold I. Levinson, MD, FAAAAI

Presented in recognition of a career as an esteemed educator, researcher and leader in the understanding of allergic and immune mediated diseases.

RSLAAIS Leadership Award



Daniel G. Steinberg, MD, FAAAAI

Presented in recognition of service to the regional, state, and national allergy/immunology communities as a leader, mentor, advocate and educator.